BLOG, Celebrate Lit Tour, Kindle

Much Ado about Persuasion by Barbara Cornthwaite Review and Giveaway

About the Book

Book: Much Ado About Persuasion

Author: Barbara Cornthwaite

Genre: Historical/Jane Austen Retelling

Release date: May 3, 2022

Muchado-663x1024

Some duel with swords, others with ships. In love, however, they duel with hearts.

When Sir Walter Elliot, secret admirer of the Navy, invites officers to visit his estate, what could be more natural than for his two daughters to find themselves in love?

Elizabeth Elliot’s legendary, bitter pride clashes with Admiral Baldwin’s stubborn conceit until any hope of a match seems impossible. They say love conquers all, but does it?

All looks hopeful for Anne Elliot and the dashing Captain Wentworth, but when a cousin steps in and sets evil plans into motion, is their love enough to withstand the storm, or is it best to let the captain sail that ship… alone?

Shakespeare’s Much Ado about Nothing meets Jane Austen’s Persuasion in this story about trust, disappointment, and disguises.

Click here to get your copy!

My Impressions

“Regret is a loathsome burden to carry.”

“Happy are the men that hear their detractions and can put them to mending.”

Because I had not read Austin’s Persuasion and Shakespeare’s Much Ado about Nothing, I chose to find summaries of the plays to better understand what to expect from the novel Cornthwaite’s Much Ado about Persusaion. Once I had done that, I could better appreciate how Barbara Cornthwaite marries Much Ado about Nothing and Persuasion.

I did not connect with the characters immediately. Slowly, as I became more acclimated to the antiquated language, I really began to enjoy the multiple storylines presented. A robust tale, with several relationships threatened, forming, or desired, it was at first difficult to keep all the characters straight. Happily, I found that continued reading rectified this problem. There were actually several times I laughed out loud. While the original tales are older and the language mimics that of earlier centuries, there were so many nuggets of truth that are applicable today! How I loved that! I underlined a great many quotes.

Faith is included with appropriate Scripture quotes or even sermon snippets that fit right in to the fabric of the story. Nothing contrived there, which can be a tricky maneuver for an author.

I recommend this novel for fans of Jane Austen and William Shakespeare. Other historical fiction lovers might also be enthralled with the story.

I received a copy of the book from Celebrate Lit. No positive review was required, and all opinions are my own.

Notable Quotables:

“good people collect other good people around them.”

Good birth is no guarantee of good character.”

“Pride is a very empty comfort when you are alone.”

“…the best thing would be to start off by praising her. Not something about her beauty, which might seem like mere flattery, but something about her character.”

My Rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Great! Keep at this one until you discover the gems inside!!

About the Author

Barbara Cornthwaite lives in the middle of Ireland with her husband and children. She taught college English before “retiring” to do something she loves far more; her days are now filled with homeschooling, trying to keep the house tidy (a losing battle), and trying to stay warm in the damp Irish climate (also a losing battle). She is surrounded by medieval castles, picturesque flocks of sheep, and ancient stone monuments. These things are unappreciated by her six children, who are more impressed by traffic jams, skyscrapers, and hot weather.

More from Barbara

I discovered Jane Austen in college when I was required to read Pride and Prejudice. This was in the dark ages before the famous adaptations, and I knew nothing about the storyline. In fact, I expected it to be depressing, probably because the title sounded similar to War and Peace. It was a delightful surprise to be charmed by the novel, and I went on to read all Austen’s other books on my own. Each of them have a special place in my heart. I love Emma so much that I wrote a two-book parallel novel for it (the George Knightley, Esquire series). I also have novellas based on Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park and Emma in the A Very Austenanthologies. This book, however, is the first thing I’ve written based on Persuasion.

Mixing the stories of these two authors has been great fun, and redeeming a couple of characters who didn’t learn anything from their mistakes in the original stories gives my version a spiritual twist. I hope you enjoy it!

Shakespeare I met in high school, and furthered my acquaintance with him in college. Much Ado About Nothing is, I think, my favorite of his plays (although there are several close contenders for the top spot). His grasp of character is unmatched, and his language, even after five hundred years, is striking.

Blog Stops

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 17

Texas Book-aholic, June 18

Miriam Jacob, June 18

A Reader’s Brain, June 19

Britt Reads Fiction, June 20

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 20

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions , June 21

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, June 22

For Him and My Family, June 22

Inklings and notions, June 23

deb’s Book Review, June 24

Of Blades and Thorns, June 24

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 25

Connie’s History Classroom, June 26

Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen, June 26

She Lives To Read, June 27

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 28

Sylvan Musings, June 28

Labor Not in Vain, June 29

Back Porch Reads, June 30

Melissa’s Bookshelf, June 30

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Barbara is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1eff5/much-ado-about-persuasion-celebration-tour-giveaway

BLOG, Celebrate Lit Tour, Chapter Book, Kiddie Lit

Tyrone the Terrible by Jan Lis with Giveaway

Tyrone-the-Terrible-FB-Banner-1

About the Book

Book:  Tyrone the Terrible

Author: Jan Lis

Genre:  Children’s Chapter Book

Release Date: March, 2020 TYRONE-COVER-FINAL-194x300

Tyrone is the skinniest chameleon in the swamp. No one wants him on their team. After going on a fitness program, Tyrone gets carried away with his new self and terrorizes his friends in Gnarly Tree Bend until he meets Sly, the meanest gator in the bayou. Looks like Tyrone is gumbo.

The moral of this story? Someone is always bigger and badder than you, so you’d best make friends along the way.

TYRONE THE TERRIBLE is a bullying tale. The feisty chameleon picks on his bayou buddies before meeting his match. In the process, he learns the value of friends and family and how actions have consequences.

This delightful story is filled with swampy animal characters with a distinctly southern voice – not quite Brer Rabbit, but a good deep-south feel.

 

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

My Review

What a fun book for children Jan Lis has written and illustrated. Tyrone the Terrible is a book younger children will enjoy having read aloud to them, complete with its Southern dialect and charm. Older children, 9-12, will enjoy the short chapters with the black and white animal illustrations (even the possum looks cute, if that’s possible!). They will enjoy trying to emulate the different animal voices to produce the Voice of the Old South. Children that like Brer Rabbit and Brer Fox will conjure up great mental images of animals that live together and impart life lessons. Discussion questions follow. I am definitely a fan of the animals in this bayou. I wonder if more cute creatures will need swamp critter help as they grow up?

Tyrone the Terrible
I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher through Celebrate Lit, plus I purchased my own copy. The complimentary copy in no way affects my opinions which are solely my own.

 

My Rating

5 Stars – Superior – Hits My Reading Sweet Spot

 

About the Author

Jan Lis is a south Florida writer and artist.  Living in this multicultural area, Jan utilizes Jan-Lis-199x300these diverse cultural influences in her stories.  Jan fills her children’s books with spunky characters and rich imagery, bringing to her stories and illustrations the same vivid quality found in her fine art paintings.

Jan attended the Cleveland Institute of Art, has a degree from Ohio University’s School of Fine Art, and took post-graduate writing at Case-Western Reserve. She established her writing as a journalist contributing articles to publications such as the Miami Herald, and the Ft. Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel, and worked as Fine Arts Editor and Columnist for the Florida Arts Gazette.

Jan Lis is an established artist who has exhibited and won awards in many of the country’s top Annual Exhibitions including: The Butler Institute of American Art, the San Diego Watercolor Society, and the Piedmont Biennial at the Mint Museum.  She is represented in corporate and private collections including: the State of Florida Art In Public Buildings Program, the Brevard County Florida Art in Public Places Program, and the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Art, Winston-Salem, NC.

Jan is represented by agent Cyle Young, Hartline Literary Agency, and is member of the
Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

 

More from Jan

How I first met Tyrone was an interesting adventure in itself. One day, a curious little chameleon climbed up on a stone, and watched me as I went for my afternoon swim. Day after day his little head popped up every time I entered the pool. Then he scrambled up onto his rock to watch me swim. Over the course of the summer I saw this skinny fellow gradually mature into quite an impressive chameleon. Sometime during the summer he gained the name Tyrone, and the story was born. Much of the action in Tyrone The Terrible takes place around Gnarly Tree, located along the bayou. While the setting of the story is fiction, the tree is not. My Gnarly tree is a venerable old Banyan, located along the pathway near my home. These days I give it a nod whenever I pass by. I loved writing the Tyrone characters, and the southern feel of the dialogue. It’s a story you just have to read out loud, and have fun with.

 

Blog Stops

For Him and My Family, June 1

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 2

Vicky Sluiter, June 3 (Author Interview)

Older & Smarter?, June 4

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, June 5

Texas Book-aholic, June 6

Simple Harvest Reads, June 7 (Author Interview)

Library Lady’s Kid Lit, June 8

deb’s Book Review, June 9

Inklings and notions, June 10

My Devotional Thoughts, June 11 (Author Interview)

Mary Hake, June 12

Splashes of Joy, June 13

Artistic Nobody, June 14 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jan is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon Gift Certificate and a signed copy of Tyrone The Terrible!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/fc14/tyrone-the-terrible-celebration-tour-giveaway