BLOG, Celebrate Lit Tour, Kindle, New-to-Me Author

Love in Disguise by Penny Zeller Review and Giveaway

About the Book

Book: Love in Disguise

Author: Penny Zeller

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: February 22, 2022

Love in Diguise

Who knew concealing one’s true identity could be so disastrous? 

Who knew asserting one’s independence would cause such embarrassment? If only Almira “Emilie” Crawford Wheeler hadn’t insisted upon carrying her own stack of parcels, she wouldn’t have landed in an unladylike heap on the boardwalk. And what about the half-truth she told the handsome stranger who came to her aid? The stranger she never expected to see again?

Thad Alexander Evanson should have been paying closer attention to the boardwalk, rather than the newfangled automobile motoring down the street. Had he been more astute, a collision with the beautiful parcel-laden stranger might never have happened. And if it never had happened, he wouldn’t have told a partial-truth he figured wouldn’t matter.

Before long, Emilie and Thad are arranging to meet for a noonday meal each weekend in Missoula under the guise of different names. But what happens when their true identities are revealed? When half-truths are exposed? Could God have a plan even in the midst of a tangled web of lies?

Click here to get your copy!

My Impressions

“But it’s not all right to lie. No, but it can be necessary. It’s never necessary.”

Love in Disguise by Penny Zeller is such a light, fun historical fiction book, yet it speaks to serious issues. I was very pleased to find this novel next on my list, a nice break from more serious reading. Zeller had me laughing out loud quite often over the antics of her characters from the early 1900s. “Being proper-like with a dash of rebellion wasn’t for the faint of heart.” “Lord, I reckon this is an odd request, but might I become invisible?“ Also, repeated imagined quotes from Emilie’s mother had me in stitches.

Themes that keep this novel from being “fluff” writing are finding faith in God, second chances, and true love. Also, telling the truth. Fortunately for the readers, the lack of truthfulness and its consequences drive the story with the necessary conflict.

I changed my rating of this book from four to five stars after considering how much I loved the feels from the story. I loved getting to know Thad and Emilie, as well as Morris and Vera. The novel has a prairie romance feel to it, similar to When Calls the Heart. I was surprised, pleased, and amused by some of the secondary characters at the book’s conclusion.

Readers who enjoy Westerns, Historical fiction, or who enjoy books by Janette Oke or Jen Turano will want to pick up this Penny Zeller offering.

————————————————————————-

I received a copy of the book from Celebrate Lit. No positive review was required, and all opinions are my own.

————————————————————————-

Notable Quotables:

“Reflecting on things I have no control over will most certainly not bring me peace of mind.”

“Displeasing as all get out to the Lord when we aren’t truthful. Even when we think we have acceptable reasons for dishonesty.”

Lying is an awful thing. It erodes trust faster than the weather changes here in Montana.

“Pray? She hadn’t prayed since the day she prayed that the Lord would save…”

My Rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Magnificent!! Just What the Dr Ordered!

About the Author

Penny Zeller is known for her heartfelt stories of faith and her passion to impact lives for Christ through fiction. While she has had a love for writing since childhood, she began her adult writing career penning articles for national and regional publications on a wide variety of topics.

Today Penny is a multi-published author of several inspirational books. She is also a homeschool mom and a fitness instructor.

When Penny is not dreaming up new characters, she enjoys spending time with her husband and two daughters, camping, hiking, canoeing, reading, running, cycling, gardening, and playing volleyball.

She is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency and loves to hear from her readers at her website www.pennyzeller.com and her blog, random thoughts from a day in the life of a wife, mom, and author, at www.pennyzeller.wordpress.com.

More from Penny

In Love in Disguise, the two main characters, Emilie and Thad, are both fond of pie a la mode. It plays a prominent part in the book, especially during Emilie and Thad’s courtship. My inspiration behind the dessert? My aunt’s famous, old-fashioned pie a la mode recipe, which is a family favorite.

Blog Stops

lakesidelivingsite, June 8

Labor Not in Vain, June 8

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 9

Texas Book-aholic, June 10

Inklings and notions, June 11

Of Blades and Thorns, June 11

For Him and My Family, June 12

deb’s Book Review, June 13

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 14

Mary Hake, June 14

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 15

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, June 16

Connie’s History Classroom, June 17

Pause for Tales, June 17

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 18

Bizwings Blog, June 19

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, June 20

Jodie Wolfe – Stories Where Hope and Quirky Meet, June 20

Splashes of Joy, June 21

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Penny is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1eb77/love-in-disguise-celebration-tour-giveaway